Lots of people say they have the best mom ever…

…..but I’m really the one that does.

My mom has been there for me through thick and thin, highs and lows, and everything everything in between.  She made me the person I am today.  She has never judged me and has always accepted me just the way that I am.  She has always been supportive and is always there if I need someone to talk to or need a favor.

Mom was great growing up.  She had (and still has) a wonderful sense of humor.  She would do silly things like the tickle alarm clock (that was waking us up in the morning by tickling us, for those who couldn’t figure it out).  When we came downstairs she would sing (if today was Tuesday, for instance) “Today is Tuesday, you know what that means?”  We never did find out what that meant, but she still sang that line almost every morning.  When she made our sandwiches for lunch, she would make a smiley face with the mustard (sure, a lot of mom’s do that, but my mom did it better).

Mom played guitar, piano, and had a pretty decent singing voice.  She would sing us songs and take our requests.  She would go outside and play with us, even though she has no athletic talent whatsoever.  She still throws that fact that we told her she throws like a girl in our faces.  She came to all of our games and cheered us on.  She let us get mohawks, even though dad said we couldn’t.

During my teenage years, things were rough.  We were borderline welfare broke.  I acted out.  Skipped school. Ran away. She stuck to her guns and held me accountable.  When she couldn’t she called the cops on me to get me back in line.  She wished my first born to be just like me, and they BOTH are.  So I’ll have to get her back somehow for that.

Some of my favorite memories growing up are Mom’s adventures in the kitchen.  Overall, Mom was a great cook, but there were some tragedies.  She tried make biscuits once and they came out hard as rocks.  Another time she tried to make onion rings in a frying pan and caught the kitchen on fire.

In short, mom raised me the right way and I’m extremely thankful for it.  When I see how many bad/horrible/deadbeat parents are out there I thank God that I have her for a mother.  We always came before her and still do.

My one wish is that my children love me and adore me the way I love and adore my mom.  I aspire to raise them as well as she raised me and I hope to make her proud.

Today is my mom’s 61st birthday.  Happy birthday, Mom.  I love you.

About Twindaddy (328 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

3 Comments on Lots of people say they have the best mom ever…

  1. beefybooyawn // June 30, 2011 at 8:25 pm // Reply

    I’m happy for you, and a huge happy birthday to what sounds like an awesome mom.

    On the flip side, I never said that about my mom because I don’t like to lie.

    Like

  2. A good and appreciative son is a direct reflection of a wonderful mom. Clearly, based on your words, she is that.

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

