Did you want me to trim your eyebrows?

Getting old sucks.  As a man, when you grow older you have to deal with hair coming in where there never was hair before.  AND you have to deal with hair disappearing from places it has always been.

My sister-in-law used to be a hair dresser.  I say used to be because she recently obtained her RN, and will be a nurse soon.  Anyhow, I’ve been going to her to get my haircuts for the longest time because she does a good job AND I get an employee discount since we’re related.

About a month ago I went to get my haircut and it coincidentally was a day where her place of employment was having a sale on haircuts.  The place was packed and the sale price was the same as I normally pay with the discount I get, so I just took the first person available because I didn’t want to wait for my sister-in-law to be free and she was on break when I got there and I wasn’t sure when she was due back.

As it happens, the person who ended up cutting my hair was at the station right next to my sister-in-law.  So as I’m getting my haircut I’m talking with my sister-in-law about when she’ll be graduating and what her employment prospects were.  Eventually, my hair is all trimmed and the person who had cut my hair looks down at me and says, “Did you want your eyebrows trimmed?”

Whaaaaaaaaat?!?!

That question caught me completely unawares.  Why the hell would I need my eyebrows trimmed?  I actually laughed out loud at the prospect of needing them trimmed.  What a moronic question.

After a hearty chuckle, I informed the young woman that, no, I would not be needing my eyebrows trimmed.  The poor woman didn’t know how to react for a moment.  I’m sure I’m the first person who ever laughed in answer to that question.  She then told my sister-in-law that she needed to warn her about her customers.

She was then informed that we were related, and the woman then had an embarrassed look on her face.

Anyhow, after I got home I looked at my eyebrows the next time I was in front of a mirror just to see what prompted her to ask me that inane question.  Turns out that upon closer inspection, I had a couple of wild hairs sticking out from above my eyes.  I quickly grabbed my beard trimmer and nipped that shit in the bud. 

What the hell?  How and when did my eyebrows get so damn long?  Why does this happen to us as we get older?  Why? Why?  For the love of God, WHY?

And then today, I had to trim them again….

About Twindaddy (328 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

8 Comments on Did you want me to trim your eyebrows?

  1. At least they weren’t coming out of your ears …

    Like

  2. Believe me, it’s not only men that deal with hair growing in new places as they get older. I spend at least two mornings a week yanking hair out of my chin with tweezers. I didn’t have two do that until about three or four years ago. I fear I may eventually have a beard.

    Like

  3. Oh the joys of getting old! Losing hair where you want to have hair, and appearing where you don’t want! 🙂

    Like

  4. Ha! Well, I respect that you took matters into your own hands. I always wonder about hair dressers dealing with men with really hairy backs. Are there times when they just don’t know where to stop? Is there a script they follow?

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

