In The Blink Of An Eye

It could all be over. Life is so fragile. Our bodies so frail.

This morning while driving the twins to school a full-sized, green pick up truck started to pull out in front of me from the right. As luck would have it there was a turn-lane for me to swerve into to avoid colliding with this driver who failed to look both ways before hitting the gas pedal. I quickly swerved into the turn-lane and then back into my rightful lane and in the process nearly flipped my car. I glanced in the rear-view mirror afterwards and noticed the truck had stopped, but it now consumed the entire lane which I had to temporarily vacate to avoid smashing into him. This all happened in about a three-second span.

When I am extremely tired it’s hard for my brain to fend off depressing and harmful thoughts. My mind wanders places I’d rather it not go. This morning I’m extremely tired so I have therefore been replaying this, in retrospect, harmless scenario in my head repeatedly. What if I hadn’t seen it pull out in time to avoid it? What if I had turned the wheel a bit more sharply? 

I drive a small, compact car, so that truck’s bumper is on the same level as our heads. Baby A was in the front seat and Baby B was in the passenger rear. I keep thinking horrible things about what might have happened if I had not been able to react as quickly as I had. Would one or both of them still be here with me? I was driving roughly 40 mph down the road so the impact would have been catastrophic.

Then I wonder: what if the car had flipped? I had to cut the wheel hard to the left to avoid hitting this truck. Then I had to cut it hard back to the right to avoid driving right into oncoming traffic. I felt the rear end of the car threaten to keep its momentum heading that way once I straightened her back out. Luckily my tires were able to maintain their grip on the road and the car only swayed back and forth momentarily before everything went back to normal as if nothing had ever happened.

In the end, I’m sure the twins and I will forget about this by the end of the day. No harm came to us and other things will swoop in and steal our attention. But right now I feel as though I narrowly avoided losing one or both of my boys. I can’t stop my mind from picturing the chrome bumper of that intimidating truck come crashing through my passenger windows and committing unspeakable harm to my babies.

I asked both of the boys if they were okay before letting them go off to school and they said they were fine. I told them I loved them, to have a good day, and that I would see them tomorrow, as is our routine. If nothing else, this event served to remind me that everything you know could disappear in the blink of an eye. You never know what cruel fate awaits us or our loved ones on a daily basis.

So make sure you hug your kids a little more tightly from now on. Make sure those you love know you love them. Show them with action. Show them with words. Let them know how much you appreciate them. Every chance to do so could be your last.

About Twindaddy (328 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

87 Comments on In The Blink Of An Eye

  1. There are too many asshole drivers that put innocent people and children in harm’s way every day. I’m glad you guys made it out okay.

    Like

  2. This has not been a good couple of driving months for you, bud.

    Like

  3. Keep the bad thoughts at bay. Your all safe and sound!

    Like

  4. So happy you and the boys are ok. Life is precious. Hugs.

    Like

  5. Thank you. I’m about over it now, but thoughts wander…

    Hugs back.

    Like

  6. Yes…my heart skipped a few beats this morning.

    Like

  7. Nothing like a brush with death to sober us up very quickly. Glad to see you and the twins are fine and are at best, just a little shaken. I guess the green truck, being huge expected to be seen and not to have to see.

    Like

  8. Happy you guys came out safe and sound. Damn truck.

    Like

  9. Thank God for your safety! Appreciate every second…you just never know.

    Like

  10. I’m so glad you all are ok. I have been in that situation so many times, and you’re right, it’s frightening to think about how fragile life is. We all have to relish each day.

    Like

  11. I’m glad you and the twins were safe.

    It’s not just your kids you have to think about. A friend of mine lost her husband in the blink of an eye due to methed up dick-head.

    As you say, you never know what is around the next bend

    Like

  12. That is so true – and I’m glad you’re all ok – it’s hard to stop reliving those events and wondering what the worst case scenario is. Get some rest – and hug the ones you love.

    Like

  13. Glad you are all safe. So very scary. :-/ And all because someone else wasn’t paying attention. Good job safely navigating around the truck. You seemed to handle it a whole lot more calmly than I would have. There would have been choice words and finger gesturing for sure…

    Like

  14. As a person who has had many near death experiences, I can feel what you are saying. Glad you are all okay.

    Like

  15. Glad you’re all safe. The way you turned around your attitude is great, though. Grateful instead of angry. Great. Perfect. Wish we could all always do that. The world would be a better place.

    Like

  16. Hey, any one you can walk away from…
    Glad it ended well for you. Keep doing the best you can, and don’t dwell on the potential pitfalls.

    And this is part of the reasin I tell my wife I love her several times a day.

    Like

  17. Thankfully, all of you are alright. It’s so true, though. You never know which moment will be our last.

    Like

  18. Truck and bus drivers are nuts.
    Glad to hear that you guys are ok. Hope the rest of the week is calmer and safeter^^

    Like

  19. Crikey.

    *love and hugs* to all of you.

    Like

  20. Yes. Moreso because my children being involved. It would have been them who took the brunt of it had we collided.

    Like

  21. I do the same thing. I have been in several accidents only one my fault but never with my daughter. I know how easy something can happen. As a parent I worry every time she steps into someone’s car. Speaking of dwelling…my OCD used to be so bad I would hit a pot hole and have to drive back to make sure it really was a pothole. ugh…So happy you are ok!!!! So so happy.

    Like

  22. I’m so glad you’re all ok

    Like

  23. Cry uncontrollably.

    Like

  24. Glad you and the kids are okay TD. It would be a sad day if we lost you, I had sleepless nights from when you stopped blogging temporarily so I could only imagine… okay maybe not sleepless nights 😉

    Like

  25. Yes.
    This is beautiful wisdom!!
    “remind me that everything you know could disappear in the blink of an eye. You never know what cruel fate awaits us or our loved ones on a daily basis.”

    As you know, I have learned this very lesson first hand .. I desperately wish I was only a speaker of these words and not a survivor of them, living each day with my tragic loss and devastation so deep inside my heart.

    Yes.
    Hug and love the ones you love .. ’cause those of you that think things like this will never happen to you, like I was, please don’t be arrogant and foolish with these thoughts. Love your precious ones to the fullest everyday .. life is utterly unpredictable .. that is all I have to say.

    Thank you for sharing this TD.
    XO

    Like

    • I know you have, Jen, and I wish I could heal your pain. You can still talk to me any time you need, you know. I’ll do what I can to help.

      Like

      • OMG .. I have been having such a hard time lately. (I know that my recent pics on FB prob show otherwise, but deep down inside, and especially since I left my lake house and came back to the city, have things been harder and harder. With this court date, I have to prepair my victims statement and going through the things I can and cannot say, re-living the murder all over again, having to sit in the same room with the person who took/killed my brother is a torture I cannot begin to describe, and I have a probation officer who likes to make my life a living hell on top of everything ( I have real bad back pain and if I take anything for it, I better make sure it’s mine or else I’m in deep shit, plus, this woman has some personal vendetta against me, don’t know why or what it is, but she hates me. she has NO heart, humility or empathy – just pure evil. I think she may be Lucifer) … Things are tough … I cry from pure sadness and devistation, I scream and cry from anger, and everything seems to be hard and difficult. I’m just beside myself right now! I’m affraid to even talk about my stuff because I just fall apart. I am on the edge of a breakdown .. pray for me!! Pray for me!!

        Like

  26. And I am very happy that you were paying good attention and alert behind the wheel, and that you and your little ones are all ok!

    XO

    Like

  27. I’m glad everyone is okay…..you’re a good dad, and thankfully a good driver!!

    Like

  28. so very scary! I hate when stuff like this happens but then I’m also grateful because it serves as a good reminder that we truly are blessed for what we have right now.

    Like

  29. 😦 Glad you were being alert and that you avoided a disastrous situation….
    Great reminder…

    Like

  30. nataliedeyoung // September 4, 2013 at 12:29 pm // Reply

    Moments like that are a good reminder to savor this life – even if they’re painful moments.

    Like

  31. Great post, and you never know…

    Like

  32. I’m glad you’re all ok, TD. People really need to learn to drive properly or get the hell off the road. We lost a friend and her daughter (my Sam’s best friend) because of someone who shouldn’t have been driving. I know how fast it can happen, and I truly am glad you all are ok.

    Like

    • Thank you. It was a scary experience, honestly. More so the consequences of what might have happened.

      Like

      • I hear ya. It’s hard to get the “what if” from circling your head. All you can do is hug the boys and remind yourself the “what if” didn’t happen, they’re ok.

        Parenting opens up a whole new world of worry, you’d think they’d put that in the manual so we’d be prepared! *hugs* TD

        Like

  33. I know first hand about that blink of the eye stuff. So scary it takes your breath away. I felt the intensity here.

    Like

  34. Truly frightening. The gravity of the situation came through here. So glad everyone is OK.

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

