Sinking Stones

After I wrote last night’s post, I clicked on the playlist YouTube suggested for the song. After Words As Weapons finished playing, This Is The Time (by Nothing More) came on. I had never heard of the band or the song, but I was immediately captivated by it. The energy. The intensity. The lyrics. The powerful imagery of the video. I’ve probably listened to the song 20 times already.

When today’s Daily Prompt popped in my mailbox (‘ello, mate), and asked for me to write a post using the first line of the last song I had heard, well…that just gave me another excuse to listen to this song again. So thank you for that, DP. Challenge accepted.

When did we become
These sinking stones
Soulless piles
Of flesh and bones

Tossed to the water
Skipping along
I come to a halt
Everything’s wrong

I break the plane
Plunge quickly below
Darker and colder
My death to bestow

The pressure is rising
While slowly I sink
I face the depths below
With nary a blink

Absolute darkness
Watery grave
Eternally damned
Can I be saved?

About Twindaddy (336 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

9 Comments on Sinking Stones

  1. This song always gets turned up loud when it comes on the radio. Love how your poem ties in.

    Like

  2. good imagery. well written.

    Like

  3. I heard this song the other day and was blown away by it! Your poetry is amazing. The imagery is so spot on and really echoes the feel of this song.

    Like

  4. Intense video, I can see why you were captivated. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Deposit 2 cents here

