My Captive


I am the sweet nothings you don’t hear
         I am the bad habits to which you adhere
I am the jealousy driving you wild
         I am the reason you’re so reviled

I am every relationship you’ve lost
I am boundaries you have never crossed          
I am dreams left unfulfilled
I am bridges you failed to rebuild          

I stroke your ego, inflate your pride
         I am the demons you harbor inside
I am all the foibles you deny
         I am everything that’s gone awry

I am the helping hand which you ignore
I stop you from opening closed doors          
I am the chances you’ve never taken
I am every friend you’ve ever forsaken          

I am every argument you’ve ever had
         I am all the people you’ve made sad
I am a whisper when you need to roar
         I am everything about you which you abhor

I am the loneliness you despise
I am an escape cloaked in disguise          
I am the misunderstandings you don’t forgive
I am your fear, and I hold you captive          

About Twindaddy (336 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

31 Comments on My Captive

  1. thefallghost // August 25, 2014 at 4:00 pm // Reply

    Really niece work!Especially the “I am boundaries you have never crossed I am dreams left unfulfilled I am bridges you failed to rebuild” part gave me goosebumps!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So true, ain’t it? Loved the whole piece of writing / poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice. I don’t like the sentiments per se, but I understand them, and they’re very well written 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow… I’m going to sit over here in awe for a moment. Well done!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. littleannab // August 25, 2014 at 4:32 pm // Reply

    Oh my beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  6. littleannab // August 25, 2014 at 4:33 pm // Reply

    Reblogged this on Little Anna B (Diamond Eyes) and commented:
    Oh such beautiful writing

    Like

  7. Nice job, TD. Check out a song called Uninvited Guest by Marillion. This poem reminds me so much of that sentiment. So glad you’re writing again.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow. I don’t know how you poets do it, but you, my friend, do it quite well. I’m with laura and in awe.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your poetry is on fire. Love this.

    Like

  10. too good and too true…

    Like

  11. So unfortunately true and so very well expressed, TD.

    Like

  12. Crazy how this makes me think about someone I hadn’t thought about for awhile. Good poetry does that, yaknow.

    Like

  13. Fear, yes, but I reckon also depression.

    Why is it our own thoughts which turn out, so often, to be the enemy?

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

