The Silence Inside My Soul

PhotoFunia-261e33f

The haunting resumes
     Demonic ghouls unkind
          Paranormal activity
               Madness defined

                    I’m the gazelle
                         My demons the lion
                              Shown no mercy
                                   My body their Zion

                                        Demons dance devilishly
                                             With the sanity they stole
                                                  A black and white symphony
                                                       Singing the silence inside my soul

                                                       I drown them in liquor
                                                  They always survive
                                             They come back stronger
                                        Continue to thrive

                                   Lightning struck
                              Understanding acquired
                         All this booze
                    Was fueling the fire

               Last call has come
          Final shot taken
     Concrete resolve
The bottle forsaken

About Twindaddy (336 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

26 Comments on The Silence Inside My Soul

  1. Sooooo good, TD! It sounds like you have drawn the line in the sand. Nicely done 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow! “I’m the gazelle
    My demons the lion
    Shown no mercy
    My body their Zion”
    That stanza right there blew my mind! Love it!

    Like

  3. I would say that your soul is anything BUT silent. Nice throw-down here, brother.

    Like

  4. Applause! Applause!
    Encore!

    Like

  5. I think this might be my favourite poem of yours. Really, really great writing here, TD.

    Like

  6. Money! Great writing. Got anything a little more cheery? That’s an intense read for 8 in the morning!
    http://jwolffblog.wordpress.com

    Like

  7. This is my favorite…the best…most personal…most relateable ever.

    Like

  8. Sounds like things are moving forward nicely 🙂 Great structure 🙂

    Like

  9. Exactly. Alcohol can only temporarily suppress the demon, which always returns with a vengeance. I love this poem.

    Like

  10. I concur with Jaded.

    (Yes, like a doctor. Because as we all know, that’s the only way to concur, right?)

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

