Perfect To Me

My dear friend, I heard a song last night which reminded me of you. It was a song of struggle and demons. It was a song to remind those that, no matter how fucked up things might be, however dark your days are, that someone, somewhere loves you for who and what you are. My friend, I love you for you. I don’t want you to change a fucking bit. I love your perceived weirdness. I love your open heart. I love your laugh. I love how you come to my rescue when I tell you I need a drink. You may not see it, and that tears me apart, but you are fucking amazing.

stormtrooper1

 

I watch you struggling day after day

Fighting to keep the demons at bay

Like the ocean tides, you rise and you fall

On hands and knees through black holes you crawl

You swim through the darkness, you suffer alone

Friends reach out, their love for you shown

You swat them away, pretend things are fine

While you suffer a fate of hell’s own design

Your soul is a painting devoid of all color

A grayscale underworld you share with no other

You’re hard on yourself, no forgiveness to behold

You tear yourself apart no matter what you’re told

I watch from the outside, while you slowly succumb

You’re fading away,  distraught and overcome

I throw you a lifeline but you refuse to hold on

Unable able to fight, completely withdrawn

I wish I may, I wish I might, have this wish I wish tonight

I wish you saw yourself through my eyesight

You’re the northern star in my night sky

You’re wind under wing which helps me to fly

When your ship has been hit and you’re ready to eject

Remember, in my eyes you’re fucking perfect

About Twindaddy (336 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

72 Comments on Perfect To Me

  1. This is incredible. Love it.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Survivor and commented:
    This so applies to my life, I hope you don’t me reposting it. Thank you for saying the words I’m thinking.

    Like

  3. This is beautiful. Absolutely beautiful.

    Like

  4. speaking of being fucking perfect…

    Like

  5. Beautiful. You have a good friend there 🙂

    Like

  6. What a gorgeous tribute to a great friend.

    Like

  7. This is lovely, TD…you are a good friend to many, it would seem 🙂

    Like

  8. Beautiful and moving.

    Like

  9. This is beautiful, TD. And I love that song…I love anything by Pink.

    Like

  10. Loved this! I have a friend I wish I could send it to. Beautiful 🙂

    Like

  11. It’s raw. I love it. I love everything that’s honestly raw.

    Like

  12. Love it. You both are lucky to have each other.

    Like

  13. so damn intense…brought tears to my eyes…I hope your friend is okay..

    Like

  14. Fucking perfect!!!!!!! (Hugs)

    Like

  15. Hopefully your friend will be able to fight the demons off! And you are so great to write this friend a poem 🙂

    Like

  16. Just perfect, CT. Really love it. 🙂

    Like

  17. I like that these lines, graphically, form a forward-leaning arrow. That’s as it should be.

    Like

  18. So very lovely and kind.

    Like

  19. Fantastic and lyrical. Thank you for sharing this.

    Like

  20. Reblogged this on hastywords and commented:
    I read this last night after a very long day and two very long nights. I read this as if it was meant for me. And then I read it as if I had written it for others. There is a magical healing in these words.
    I don’t every want these words to disappear.
    I have loved Pink for her lyrics for years and happen to think she is one of the best down to earth entertainers there is.

    TD… this is by far my favorite poem you have done. You just keep outdoing yourself. It’s F**kin Perfect!

    Liked by 2 people

  21. So…this IS perfect. Like you mentioned that you felt he wrote this with you in mind, I have to say that I felt the same way. Not TD, in particular….but that it was written for me by someone. By a FEW people, because it helped to remind me that there ARE those who truly care. – Crystal

    Liked by 2 people

  22. Thanks for sharing this, TD. It was very well written and surely it moved many. – Crystal

    Like

  23. Beautiful… and I know people (perhaps the some of the same ones) that I feel the same way about.

    Very well done.

    Like

  24. I honestly have no words. To express my feelings in my Heart. I can only say thank you for that Heart. Love, Amy

    Like

  25. I hope your friend takes confidence and comfort from knowing your love, TD.

    Like

  26. Kristi Campbell - findingninee // September 11, 2014 at 6:57 pm // Reply

    I love this. You are an incredible friend. I feel like I know who this is for, or at least who I want to see it so that she remembers how loved she is.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. This was nice. I don’t usually like poetry, but this was very nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Love the song but the video that goes with it made me feel a bit ick.

    TD, you’re one good friend to have. Xx

    Like

  29. Serins sent me over here, and I saw that somehow I hadn’t ‘liked’ it, and was gutted cos I thought I’d missed it first time around, and it’s such a gorgeous poem…but no – I was here before. *grins*

    You’re a good poet and a good friend, Scott. Whoever this is, I’m glad they have you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

4 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. 10 Things of Thankful #11 – Silver linings | Serins Sphere
  2. I’m spreading the Bloggy love – Finding Twindaddy! Don’t you miss out! | Serins Sphere
  3. 10 Things of Thankful (18) [link-up 81] | Serins Sphere
  4. 15 Motivational Songs to kick A** | Shining Seeds

Deposit 2 cents here

