Awaken

Drowning in darkness
Perpetual night
Swimming in blackness
Absence of light

Awaken

Fruitless struggle
Every trial I face
Leads me right back
To this shadowy place

Awaken

Drowning in troubles
No solace to find
Bleakness clings tightly
Fears intertwined

Awaken

There are no colors
In this personal hell
No beauty to behold
In this makeshift cell

Awaken

My struggle continues
Paralyzing despair
Sinking further
Into this nightmare

Awaken

Unable to leave
This place I’ve been taken
When an angelic voice whispers
“It’s time to awaken”

Awaken

Slowly but surely
Light conquers dark
I have a destination
On which to embark

Awaken

I follow the light
Fight for salvation
Gradually progress
Total illumination

Awaken

Baptized by light
Color abound
In this new place
Beauty surrounds

Awaken

Aware now, of life
No longer I slumber
I make my way through
Life unencumbered

Awaken

Thankful, I am
No longer forsaken
Blessed to be
Fully awakened

About Twindaddy (332 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

17 Comments on Awaken

  1. I love the repetition throughout. 😀

    Like

  2. A brilliant piece. I had some really good images created in my mind – one of which, for some reason, was a (young) Kate Bush type woman, in a white flowing gown, whispering the repeated word ‘Awaken’.

    Love ya work mate. And I can see your face! That’s awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dude….(I mean Scott). Love it.

    Light conquers it all, man. Love how you describe it. Being fully awakened…what a gas. What a deal. What a way to go through life, with eyes wide open and a full, glad heart. It’s a journey and it’s not always light and sweet, but we have a good base to start with, don’t we.

    Nice to “see” you too. 🙂

    Paul

    Like

  4. This is really nice….. loved it.

    Like

  5. Yeah…this is awesome. I could feel all the words. Nice job!!!

    Like

  6. This is beautiful Scott. So encouraging and inspiring… I am sharing.

    Like

  7. Love this poem,I could feel the emotions you put into writing this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love this one. You have a genuine talent for poetry.

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

