Into The Bottle

Image via rehabcenterforwomen.org/

Image via rehabcenterforwomen.org

Unbearable pain
Running full throttle
To ease my discomfort
I dive into the bottle

When life is too much
When I can’t find my zen
I willingly descend
Into the bottle again

When reality sucks
No help from friends
I need to escape
Into the bottle again

Can’t handle the pressure
This life I abhor
I need a release
Into the bottle once more

Sinking deeper
Not sure how to get through
No other options
Into the bottle anew

Gripping despair
Bitter suffocation
Life-ending consequences
Eternal damnation

Footnote: No, I have not started drinking again.

About Twindaddy (336 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

29 Comments on Into The Bottle

  1. Glad you added that footnote there. I was about to ask because 1. I care. And 2. I’m nosey. Great poem! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “When reality sucks
    No help from friends
    I need to escape
    Into the bottle again”

    I’m here.

    And this poetry is awesome as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you got this out AND didn’t start again.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember when you wrote this. Was way into my problem and worried about you. Glad you aren’t drinking. Neither am I (again).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is very powerful…and I know I’ve been there. More times than I care to remember.

    Like

  6. Kristi Campbell - findingninee // October 27, 2014 at 12:08 pm // Reply

    Oh wow. Seriously I was reading with a sinking heart thinking you’d had a huge binge weekend. I’m so relieved to read that you didn’t. Awesome poetry though. Seriously dude.

    Like

  7. I’m glad for the reassurance of the footnote. Also glad this isn’t your truth 🙂

    Like

  8. Excellent writing as always. I too am glad of your footnote. I hope that maybe, this post, will help others who’ve been where you were.

    Like

  9. Like everyone else…hell yeah about the footnote.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The saddest thing about using alcohol to numb out depression? Alcohol is a super-potent depressant drug. Holy vicious cycle, Batman!
    Glad to hear you’re okay. 🙂

    Like

  11. Man can I relate. I am 23 days sober and will continue to fight the good fight. Hugs & blessings to you! KW 🙂

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

