My Ideal Reader

Ohhhhhh…today’s assignment allows me to wax narcissistic and detail my dream reader. The ideal person I’d like reading my blog. I could have some fun with this.

First, my ideal reader would agree with everything I say, because I’m obviously never wrong. My ideal reader would worship me as if I walked on water. They would praise my prose and laugh at my every joke, no matter how horrible it is. They would share my every word on all their social media accounts because they would believe that my every utterance needs to be heard by the masses. They would openly wonder why I’ve yet to be published, because I’m clearly the greatest writer on the planet. They would stalk me on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, and outside my home (hi, Mandi) because you can just never have too much of me. In my ideal reader’s eyes, I could do no wrong because I’m absolutely perfect.

It’s nice to dream, isn’t it? Sigh…

If I can be serious for a moment (and only a moment, because being serious is the suck), my ideal reader would have much in common with me; an open-minded individual unafraid to have open, frank, and respectful discussions about whatever topic I choose to discuss. They don’t necessarily have to agree with me, but they would be honest regarding their views and would convey those views without insults or rage. My ideal reader would offer their own experiences when I write about mine to open my mind to other points of view. For instance, when I write about my mental health my ideal reader would offer their own experience with their struggles with mental health, if indeed they have them. My ideal reader would also offer their insight into my struggles and perhaps share how they overcame their similar struggles.

Ideally, I would form a friendship with my reader, and over the last four years I have formed many, many valuable friendships via blogging. I have formed relationships with people who have had similar struggles. People who have dealt with abuse, depression, and divorce. I value those relationships because I know I can reach out to those people and they will understand. These people help me grow. I have changed drastically over the past four years (for the better) and much of that is a result of the relationships I’ve forged through WordPress.

My ideal reader? Well, my ideal reader would just kick ass. Plain and simple. But at this point I’ll take whatever I can get, because I’m a stat-whore.

About Twindaddy (336 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

48 Comments on My Ideal Reader

  1. be sure and use protection so you don’t get an STD being a stat whore 😀
    You surely are a good writer. Worthy of stalking but sadly I don’t have the time to devote to the cause. I finally finished reading your old posts, it is very obvious how much you’ve changed emotionally. Sucks growing up and becoming a better parent and adult sometimes, but necessary. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  2. Do you have another stalker?? *waves then quickly puts hand in pocket* because I am Mandi. That’s Mandi with an I. Who’s Mandy? I don’t like to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha….that last line was awesome!! xx

    Like

  4. A ha! Well just between us, I check my stats on daily basis, and it sucks when you have like … okay its embarrassing to say that’s how low my numbers are… for page views….. But I’m gonna try some new marketing strategies. if they work out i will let know…..

    Ain’t that make me an ideal reader? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That is called a wife… And you can’t have more than one of those because it is illegal in most parts of the world 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Ha! Stat whore! Love it. Aren’t we all?

    Like

  7. Depends on the stat, tbh. Comments – YES PLEASE VERY MUCH. But still not from total strangers. Well – not ALL of them. I like my bloggy friendships too much 😀

    Your ideal reader sounds nice. And also (funnily enough) much like many of your existing readers. FAIT ACCOMPLI! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I kick-ass therefore I am your ideal reader. Plus stat-whore.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The perfect ending, TD. Perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I snorted at your last line because I’m a total stat whore (views, comments more so than # of followers, because I love the engagement/discussion aspect of blogging). And for 2 weeks now, I’ve seen my stats decline from an average of 1,000+ views per week to ~400 due to my self-imposed blogging hiatus because of this damned new job. 🙂 Oh well…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Despite having not written a post in months, I still check my stats every so often.

    Nothing beats seeing what search terms people have used and found your blog.

    I’m curious, will you be bringing up Blunt Life Coach on here or has he died a death now?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I WOULD BE your ideal reader if I had more time to read your posts & didn’t get so far behind all the time! I’m not even going to make excuses anymore. I have no idea what in the world is keeping me so busy I don’t have time to to read (maybe it’s FB games, online university, health problems or laziness) but whatever it is – it’s me so I’m going to continue doing what I do & catching up on posts when I can.

    Liked by 1 person

Deposit 2 cents here

