Bridge in Flames

Image via seanogle.com

Darkness has fallen
Wan moonlight glow
Landscape glistens
Fresh-fallen snow

A whiff of smoke
Invades my nose
I follow the scent
Unsure where it goes

The smell leads me
To a bridge afire
Oppressive heat
Makes me perspire

Through angry flames
I see you there
Piercing me with
A bitter glare

I peer into your
Fierce green irides
Your grim resolve
Brings me to my knees

Tears flow freely
As flames draw near
The blaze gives birth
To my deepest fear

Though we are through
I manage to see
The beauty within
This grim tragedy

What once was our bond
Has been sauted
I watch weakly
While you walk away

About Twindaddy (336 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

16 Comments on Bridge in Flames

  1. I’m all out of sense…errr…cents. 😀 Love this.

    Like

  2. Burning bridges and glaring green eyes, you my friend are a wordsmith, and I ain’t telling lies.

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know this was all Deep and stuff, but honestly, I’m cold and I just want to snuggle up to the fire…

    Like

  4. Very evocative. Love these lines – Tears flow freely/ As flames draw near/ The blaze gives birth / To my deepest fear

    Like

  5. Hi Twindaddy, thanks for your yeah write submission. If you’d like to participate in the voting and the writing contest, please fill out the entry form: http://yeahwrite.me/yeah-write-november-writing-contest-entry-form/

    That puts you on the judges score card. Thanks!

    Nate

    Like

  6. I’ve read some of your poetry before, and you do very well at evoking a deep and melancholy reaction.

    Like

  7. Kristi Campbell - findingninee // November 19, 2014 at 8:58 pm // Reply

    Dude. You have the talents. Big huge ones.

    Like

  8. Kristi Campbell - findingninee // November 19, 2014 at 11:06 pm // Reply

    It’s true. So true.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This is fabulous, provocative and evocative.

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

