The One Where I Come Out of Hiding to Tell You Something and Then Go Back Into Hiding

What a decrepit place this is. Cobwebs hang in its vacant corners. A thick layer of dust covers its unread words like an unwanted layer of skin. The doors squeal irritably when opened. My mouse clicks echo down its empty halls. This space is a ghost-town. It’s a place where, back in its hey-day, many stories were shared, comments were left, and support was both given and received. And many laughs were shared.

But then I lost that bloggy feeling. And now it’s gone, gone, gone. Whoa oh oh oh oh.

The fuel that drove my literary fire has been exhausted. I feel no need to write and have nothing to say. Perhaps one day that flame will flicker back to life, but today is not that day.

Any excuse to use this GIF. I can’t stop laughing at it.

Instead, I’ve dusted off my trusty keyboard to let you know that a piece I wrote long ago has been published on another blog today. It’s a piece written about a time in my life when I morphed from a naive boy to a cynical young man exposed to some of the world’s darkest secrets.

Please head on over to The Sisterwives, a haven created by a group of incredible women which provides us all with a supportive place to share our haunting (and sometimes funny) stories. Please subscribe while you’re there so you can receive their epic content in your otherwise spam-filled inboxes.


Also, if you’d like a chance to get in on the #WhereIsHelena game, hit me up to find out how. You could win a very special prize created by our beloved dilettante. Even better, you’ll help create buzz for one of the BEST authors I have ever read, and that’s what this is all about. Support the arts, darlings.

I’ll warn you right now, though…she was in bed with me last night so I hope you don’t mind sloppy seconds.

20150125_021827[1]PS. Sorry about the long title, folks. I’ve been binge-watching Friends and that’s all I could think of to call this piece.

About Twindaddy (336 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

57 Comments on The One Where I Come Out of Hiding to Tell You Something and Then Go Back Into Hiding

  1. You are missed sir.

    Like

  2. So pleased to see you back, if only temporarily. I hope you’re doing ok – you’ve always been such a huge support and particularly during my early months you have me huge confidence when I was feeling very low. Whatever you’re doing and wherever your journey takes you, I wish you all the best. Keep in touch if you can!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lisa @ The Meaning of Me // January 26, 2015 at 2:29 pm // Reply

    Hey! Wondered where you was. I’ll go check it out.

    Like

    • Lisa @ The Meaning of Me // January 26, 2015 at 2:30 pm // Reply

      Whoops…hit the button too fast. Lost that bloggy feeling…funny…but happens to everybody. Hang in there. When the time is right, the words will come.

      Like

      • Premature publication!!! How embarrassing!

        I’m sure the words will come back at some point, which is the only reason I haven’t completely shut this place down. I have no doubt I’ll need this outlet again someday.

        Like

  4. You know, I’m gonna start spamming the comments section of each and every post in this here web-blog soon! And I’m gonna start leaving smooches and what not’s too. …. (hugs)

    Don’t worry I think most of us will still be waiting patiently till you get back. Now let me go to them Sisters and check out that post. I’ve been suffering from some unknown stuph that I can’t identify, I think it is called twindaddy withdraw or something… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I lost that bloggy feeling for months and suddenly it’s back. It’s not the same, we had a really great group going for awhile but I think people got tired or bored and some shit got real weird but we are all still here on the fringes. Over to check you out on the other side!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. When you’re ready, the electrons will still be here.

    Like

  7. What do you think we’re going to do? Remove you from our feeder? As if. Take a break and before you know it blogging will claw its way up your back again. I’ve tried to walk away dozens of times. It never works. NEVER.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Glad to hear from you, Scott.
    The non-bloggy feeling is a bit pervasive in my space, too. Thanks for hopping over to my site today…I’m writing “fun” stuff because I don’t feel like writing anything real right now. It’s okay to take a break – especially when you know that we will all be waiting for you when you get back. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lol i don’t feel like posting either. I guess the blogging blues is contagious. If wonder if there’s an antidote for it. XD

    Like

  10. Oh I did NOT think of taking Helena to bed with me! DUH! You did it better. I shall have to find some more inventive places for her to appear yet!

    YAY for you writing for us. I’m glad.

    And if you listen carefully in your quiet halls, you’ll hear the sound of people breathing, waiting for you to walk through the door, when you’re ready, and take up your keyboard again.

    Like

  11. I suspect the sloppy seconds is still pretty damn good.

    And as Mark says above, it’s not like we are removing you from our feeder, silly. I miss you but will welcome you back whenever you choose to come back. And the SisterWives rock and so pleased to see you on their site.

    …but hey, didya add me to your blog roll yet? 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sings…I’ll be there for you…corny? Most def. Loveya, Scott.

    Like

  13. As I am recovering from a Netflix binge myself, I sort of know how you feel: when the next episode is about to start in the next 15 seconds, it’s hard to work up the urge to write anything.
    And by the way, Friends would be my next binge, but I feel like I must first put my affairs in order before starting to watch it.

    Like

  14. “Baby come back, any kind of fool could see, there was something… in everything about you…” 🙂 Miss your writing Scott. Don’t stay gone too long.

    Like

  15. Why hello there Scott, glad you made an appearance, even if it’s just brief.
    My daughter is away at college and in May she will be receiving a Phd in Netflix watching! Not sure about any other degrees, but this one is certain!

    Like

  16. Having been in retreat I wasn’t around for a week. Didn’t stop me thinking of you, though. Xx

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

