TToT: Huge Weight Off My Shoulders Edition

It’s been a while since I’ve been thankful. In fact, it’s been awhile since I’ve had reason to be thankful. No doubt had I really tried I could have found things for which to be thankful, such as my children, my family, air in my lungs, and other things I seem to take for granted. I haven’t had the desire to search for thankfuls these last few months, though. When you’re stressed out and spiraling downward, however, finding thankfuls is a seemingly insurmountable endeavor.

Fuck depression.

My slide into despair began in October when the company I work for was bought by another company. That company has its own internal IT department. The writing was not only on the wall, but had been chiseled into the wall with expert precision. I decided then that come the first of the year I’d begin looking for a new job.

The bad news kept pouring in. I found out some back taxes I thought had been addressed in my bankruptcy hadn’t been. The bankruptcy also did nothing to remove the house I’d once shared with the twins’ mom from my credit, which was the main reason I had filed in the first place. I had to put my dog down. I also had to figure out what to do about student loans I’d incurred for attending a school which screwed me over (and lost its class-action lawsuit for doing so), but had no assets with which to pay the loans I took out. Loans which they had been court-ordered to pay. Baby B spectacularly flunked his English class because he failed to complete over half of his assignments. Finally, two-weeks before Christmas, my boss told me to start looking for a job. He didn’t know when, but our positions were going to be eliminated.

Though my situation was shitty, I didn’t succumb to my demons. I didn’t hide nor run away from my problems as I may have in the past. I took them on.

I began with the job-hunt in early January. I posted my résumé to multiple sites: Careerbuilder, Monster, Ziprecruiter, Beyond, LinkedIn, and some others I can’t recall. I scoured those sites and more for openings for which I was qualified. There were plenty of positions available, and I was offered a few of them, but they were contract jobs with no benefits whatsoever. Most of them wouldn’t even withhold taxes from my paycheck. I  rejected quite a few offers which offered me more money than I am currently making, because I need benefits. The thought of not having insurance is a frightening one to me. So I kept plugging away.

While I toiled away on the job hunt, other things began to fall into place of their own accord. First, I received a letter from the bank holding my student loan. The letter claimed my debt had been satisfied. My jaw hit the ground like Wile E. Coyote hitting a canyon bottom as I read those words.

I’m not sure how it happened, but between the lawsuit and the bankruptcy the loan was taken care of. I didn’t ask any questions except to confirm that I owed them no money. And I don’t.

Huge. Weight. Off. My. Shoulders.

After some phone tag with the head of collections at the Kentucky Department of Revenue I was able to work out a payment plan. This will take a while to pay off, but at least it’s been addressed and I have a plan.

Huge. Weight. Off. My. Shoulders.

After that I decided to ask the twins’ mother if she ever planned on refinancing the house we once shared and removing my name. I was prepared to threaten to move back in the house if I needed to, but it turned out not to be necessary. She told me, to my complete surprise, that she’d been working on it. Last Friday she signed the closing papers to refinance the house.

Huge. Weight. Off. My. Shoulders.

To deal with Baby B’s titanic flop in his English class, I reached out to his teacher and asked her for specifics of B’s failures so I knew how to properly attack the problem. In short, she told me that B was more than capable of learning the material (he scored over 100 on the final exam) but his work ethic left much to be desired. When given time in class to complete his assignments he socialized instead. He still had the chance to bring those assignments home to complete them, but he never did because he sucks at being organized.

This teacher also informed me that she had Baby A this semester, and noticed he was having similar issues.

This dad put on his mean face (which he loathes to do) and went on the offensive.

First, I grounded B from all technology for two weeks and took his iPhone away from him. Then I sat down both boys and explained to them that the school issued them agendas (pocket organizers) and that they were to begin using them. I would be checking them every night and there had better be notes from every class or there’d be hell to pay. I also told them I would no longer tolerate work not being turned in. I have been fighting this battle for three years now and I’m simply over it. The bottom line, I told them, was that if I needed to resort to being an asshole to get them to perform well in school then that’s what I would do. I’ll take their phones. I’ll sell their Xbox. I’ll remove the computer from their room. I’ll block Facebook via the router so they can’t access it through any internet connected device. I’ll make them hate me.  I don’t want it to come to that, but if that’s what it takes that’s what will happen.

Luckily it hasn’t come to that yet. Both boys brought home A’s and B’s on their mid-terms last week.

Huge. Weight. Off. My. Shoulders.

That left the hugest stressor of all…finding a new job before my current one ceased to exist. I’d scrounged together five interviews in the past week and a half – two of them second interviews. On Wednesday, I was offered a position at a new company and after haggling the pay rate a bit, I accepted their offer.

Huge. Weight. Off. My. Shoulders.

I will be earning a few dollars less than I’m currently making, but the trade-off is that I will learn a buttload of new skills which will pay off for me down the road. The company will reimburse me for education (so long as what I learn is beneficial to them) and it has a great benefits package. I was pretty much informed that only my ambition will prevent me from growing in this company.

The only real big thing I have left on my to-do list is to move to the next county over so Baby C can attend school there. I actually already have that figured out, and I’m on a waiting list for a vacant apartment.

So I’m exploding with thankfulness right now (it’s seeping from my pores) and I’m feeling extremely good about how things are shaping up for me right now. I’m fighting the urge to wonder when the other shoe will drop, but still feeling good overall.

I realize I didn’t list 10 actual things, but all of these things are worth more than one thankful. In fact, I think each one is worth 10 thankfuls so this is actually a few dozen things of thankful.

What about you, nice people? What are you thankful for?

TToT

About Twindaddy (336 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

66 Comments on TToT: Huge Weight Off My Shoulders Edition

  1. Amaizingness. I’m really happy for you. 🙂

    Like

  2. Honestly, i’m thankful that things in your life are looking up.

    Like

  3. AWESOME, TD!!!! Yay for you. I’m thankful for you just like X.

    Like

  4. This is an AWESOME list. Seriously awesome and believe me I get the whole benefit package thing. It’s the reason my husband can NEVER retire. Ever.

    Like

  5. Wow! What great news to read here this morning! You’ve already had the shoe department at Macy’s fall on you, TD, now it’s your time for some good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am thankful you have so much to be thankful for. This actually makes my morning and I seriously couldn’t be happier for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dude, this all is fantastic! Congratulations!

    I am almost back to the land of the reinsured here. Just barely a day and a half to go … and hoping the baby’s fever is nothing!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My heart got lighter and lighter the more I read, BTFFFL, I’m THRILLED TO PIECES for you 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So much awesomesauce. I’m drinking in your honor tonight.

    Like

  10. Happy, happy, happy day! With all that weight off, you must be soaring!

    Like

  11. I am so happy for you. I love the way you tackled everything head on. When everything piles up like that, I tend to hide under the covers. Not a good strategy.

    It’s SUPER frustrating when bright kids don’t do well in school, isn’t it? Do what you have to do.

    Like

  12. I am thankful the universe is finally giving you a break! So happy for all of these wonderful things, and proud of you for taking the bull by the horns. Some of those things may have turned around on their own (good karma!), but you certainly did what you needed to do to change the direction of your story.

    Like

  13. I’m thankful that the weights are lifting off your shoulders. Yay for you! :0)

    Like

  14. I’m thankful when I read good news. This is great news. Dead chuffed for you, Scott. 🙂

    Like

  15. This. Makes. Me. Sooooo happy!

    I’m thrilled to pieces that life is looking up for you. Sending hugs!

    Like

  16. I am feeling so much happiness for you, Scott!! My heart is beaming! 🙂 I am also incredibly impressed with your resolve and ability to attack each and every issue head on until a resolution was made. WOW! Just WOW! Many people wait around for good things to happen but you made them happen. Felicidades, amigo! 🙂

    Like

  17. This sounds a lot like what I went through almost four years ago now. I am not in the clear depression wise. I know, I walk a fine line and its not even a straight line its much more wavy. I am glad things are falling into place now. We too are having to really tighten down because of poor application of effort at school. Sigh.

    Like

    • It’s frustrating, ain’t it? Knowing that they could do so much better if they only tried? Drives me nuts.

      Like

      • whats worse on our side , I don’t have the teacher support you have. I point blank told her teacher she didn’t feel there was consequences to late or incomplete homework. He says there is. So my next thought was so don’t you think it might need tweaking if she doesn’t see it as a consequence?

        Like

  18. Kristi Campbell - findingninee // February 28, 2015 at 2:40 pm // Reply

    So much fabulousness! What huge weights off your shoulders – the job, the boys, the house, the loan, all of it! I’m so thankful that life’s giving you great things right now!!! Yay happy happy!

    Like

  19. congratulations… huge weights indeed! Nice work on your part too! Its not like it all just fell into place … took some skill!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. dyannedillon // February 28, 2015 at 8:39 pm // Reply

    You certainly turned shit into sunshine! Congratulations!

    Like

  21. AWESOME!
    You have been on my mind so much lately – though, you wouldn’t know it by my communication.
    I’m so glad to hear about all of the weight off your shoulders. It’s just crazy! Crazy that there could be so much, impressive that you were patient and didn’t succumb, and back to crazy that everything fell into place.
    Yay you! xo

    Like

  22. I am so happy to read of all of the good things that came your way! I truly hope that things keep on going so well. Sometimes we just need a few things to work out and that gives us the fortitude to tackle the next things. Here’s to a great new week!

    Like

  23. This is beyond awesome. The fact that you were able to go through all of that – not just go through but WORK through it like seriously come up with a plan and tackle all of the things in the face of depression is just fan-fucking-awesome <— I made that one up myself *pats self on shoulder*
    People don't realize how hard it is to brush your teeth when you're depressed let alone face some serious life situations. Damn. I am so proud of you and I so happy and thankful that all the stars are aligning *insert inspirational Star Wars quote*

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Fantastic post! Yes, things went downhill fast for a while there, but you stuck it out and found solutions to all of them. What a marvelous feeling! I’m very happy for you.

    Like

  25. WHO CARES how many items you have??? I am freaking happy dancing for you, Scott!!! This is an awesome awesome list. This I love: “Though my situation was shitty, I didn’t succumb to my demons. I didn’t hide nor run away from my problems as I may have in the past. I took them on.” That is total rockstar and I am so happy for you. Every time I read about another thing that was a huge weight off your shoulders, I wanted to punch the air.
    And I did.
    Does it feel awesome to grab life by the balls? ‘Cause you are!

    Like

  26. That is just great and amazing and basically a miracle that everything has turned out OK.

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

