Make Me Feel

Today during a rather lengthy drive I became reflective while listening to the tunes blasting from my car stereo. I thought to myself how all good music makes me feel in some way. Whether the story a song tells make me feel or the song itself makes me think of how it relates to my own personal experiences, the fact that it makes me feel something means it’s good.

Then I got the idea to write a poem around the line “make me feel.” My original idea was to write an upbeat poem about how things can influence us in a positive way, but as things often do when my mind gets a hold of them, my poem took an extremely dark turn.

Over my years of blogging I have connected with many people who suffer from mental illness. Many of those folks inflict physical harm upon their bodies. Some do so as a way to control what they feel. Others simply do it because they feel nothing otherwise. My journey with mental illness has been one of extremes. Either I feel all the feels or none of the feels. Thankfully I’ve never been so numb I had to resort to self-harm just to feel. I have, however, been so completely overloaded with feels that I’ve tried to numb myself with liquor, which, for those of you keeping score at home, is not a good idea.

Ever heard the quote, “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about.”? Well, that’s entirely true. If I’m having a bad day more than likely I’m waging war with the demons in my head. It’s not that I’m just being a dick (though I often times come off that way). I’m just fighting. And sometimes, I get tired of fighting.

Anyhow, this, despite my original intentions, is the poem I came up with. I hope you enjoy it despite its darkness. Special thanks to Lizzi for her input.

NOTE: This is a wild departure from what I normally write and might make some of my family uncomfortable. I will totally understand if you don’t read, but you have been warned.

stormtrooper1

Make me feel
For I am numb
My sensitive feelings
Overcome
Weave your dazzling prose
Into a piercing story
Strip away my walls
Leave me raw and gory
Flay me with your words
Stir my dead emotions
Make my tears fall in waves
Like water from the ocean

Make me feel
For I am numb
My tender feelings
Overcome
Read to me a poem
Heartbreakingly framed
Flowing with rhythm
Leaving me inflamed
I need to feel something
No matter what the cost
Induce all the feels
Before I’m wholly lost

Make me feel
For I am numb
My slaughtered feelings
Overcome
Share with me a story
Taken from the news
Show me horrid comments
Which frightfully abuse
Tell me of injustice
Speak of wors’ning days
Evoke my sleeping wrath
Set my ire ablaze

Make me feel
For I am numb
My violated feelings
Overcome
Plunge your pristine knife
Into my dirty flesh
Leave everlasting scars
Throughout my heaving chest
Make your mark upon me
For all the world to see
Unchain my solid heart
Unbind and set me free

Make me feel
For I am numb
My delicate feelings
Overcome
Crank up the volume
Drop that beat
Sway your hips
Shuffle your feet
Energize my soul
Make my blood rage
Take me to the edge
Make me come on stage

Make me feel
For I am numb
My malleable feelings
Overcome
Grasp me firmly
Yank me close
Kiss me fiercely
Rip off my clothes
Brutally fuck me
Bring me to climax
Hold nothing back
I need your attacks

There’s nothing I won’t do
To escape this deadened state
I beg of you do all you can
To steal me from this fate
If you care I pray you dare
Assault with no remorse
This wall I’ve built; and with no guilt
Lay in your lethal course

 

About Twindaddy (330 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

23 Comments on Make Me Feel

  1. You know, I am not a fan of poetry. Perhaps I need to reconsider.

    Eloquent, TD.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think this is one of your best. It almost made me feel. Right now I’m just numb. I have always loved your poetry. Hope to read more.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. FRIST! And yes – really raw, powerful stuff here. I do like it when you poem 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I was holding my breath reading it. Very… where is the word? But it is good.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great effort here. Did it help?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I understand this, it is eloquent and harsh. It is very good.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow…that should be all, just WOW. But I want to say I hope ou print this and keep it close for those dark times and even the light ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. this poem is just Wow..the despair is so well-expressed..

    Like

  9. Agree, eloquent and harsh, and perfectly true – it’s so often difficult to see that someone’s got walls that you need to keep on battering at to get through. From my own experiences with the bastard that is depression, as much as I want to be on my own a times, there are also times when I wish that a couple of people would keep on pestering and refusing to leave me alone. Of course, the people who I want to keep pestering don’t always know about it and I’m usually too scared to ask. Depression is an evil bastard for sure.

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

