How I Fall

How I Fall

I get to a place
Where life is good
Everything’s going
Just as it should

I think to myself
Another step forward
Pick a new goal
To inch closer toward

Think, think, think
My mind adrift
So many desires
Through which to sift

I know what I want
And that is to try
To reclaim the past
Swim back through time

I want my family
Assembled again
I reach out to her
Then we begin

It starts out amazing
Just like before
Then novelty fades
I am your bore

Light fades to night
And I have lost sight
No colors ignite
All’s black and white

I tread down a path
I’ve beaten before
Forgotten a lesson
I must learn once more

You’ll always want
What I can’t obtain
This failed attempt
Confirms I’m insane

You commit again
As I should have known
Deeds which cut me
Compassion not shown

Despair breaks me
Damage untold
Helpless spectator
Demons take hold

Drowning in anger
Reluctant, I choose
To temper the flames
Douse them with booze

This is how I fall
Unchecked lividity
Stranded alone
By my own stupidity

About Twindaddy (336 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

26 Comments on How I Fall

  1. We do we return, like dogs to vomit, to the things that hurt us?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes I hate the light because I know the brighter it is, the darker it will seem when it fades. Feeling this. Good post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. And yet, had it worked, it would SO have been worth the gamble. And that’s the risk we all take.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m sorry, Scott. I feel for the pain you are going through. There has got to be hope, always. Hope keeps us going back regardless of the outcome and how painful it is. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m at a loss for words. You, and your words, are good. That I know.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a beautifully heartbreaking poem, and I love you. That’s all I got.
    Happy Nano’ing. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you’re with us. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This cuts me through and through. I am sorry, I wish I could hug you till you didn’t hurt.

    Like

Deposit 2 cents here

