A Moment I’ll Forever Relive

Out on the corner, caught in the rain
Trapped in my head is the same ol’ refrain
Walking on sponges, chilled to the bone
Coming to grips with being newly alone
Headlights illuminate, she pulls alongside
A voice sweet as sugar offered me a ride
I smiled and accepted, relished the reprieve
Unaware of how heinously I’d be deceived

A spark of passion, bodies heat
We spent the night between the sheets
Primal lust, animalistic intent
We explored each other ’til we were spent
I awoke alone, on her pillow a note
My heart deflated as I read what she wrote
“I am the flower, you are the seed
We walked in the garden, we planted a tree
Don’t try to find me, please don’t you dare
Just live in my memory, you’ll always be there”

A chance encounter, a shocking surprise
Many years later would cause my demise
Passed her by, could not believe
She had a child who looked just like me
Tears flowed freely, I fell to my knees
As she made to me this stunning decree
“Please, please understand,
I’m in love with another man
And what he couldn’t give me
Was the one little thing that you can”

Like breath in winter, my vision obscured
She vanished before I could utter a word
Heart hallowed out, shadow-stained soul
How can my heart ever be whole?
Don’t know her name, nor where she lives
Cursed by a moment I’ll forever relive
Nowhere to turn, nowhere to go
I have a child who I’ll never know


Last night the classic Heart song “All I Wanna Do Is Make Love To You” came on my playlist and as I listened to it for the 456,632,114,621th time I wondered…what would this story look like from the guy’s point of view? So, this is what I imagined would happen.

About Twindaddy (330 Articles)
Sometimes funny. Sometimes serious. Always genuine.

9 Comments on A Moment I’ll Forever Relive

  1. Wow, this is great.

    Like

  2. P.S. I always hated the chick in the song. I mean, the chick whose perspective is being told.

    Like

  3. DUUUUUUUUUUUUDE! You did this so, SO well 😀 *slow clap*

    Like

  4. I always thought there was a heartlessness to this song. You showed the other side wonderfully well.

    Like

    • I guess it could be perceived at heartlessness. Or it could be perceived as a woman doing what she thought necessary to become a mom. I don’t think what the woman in this song did was okay, but plenty of people do.

      Like

Deposit 2 cents here

